top of page
CUH_3234.jpg

Biography

Eleni Papakyriakou comes from Thessaloniki, Greece. Her main studies of orchestra conducting were completed in 2015 at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna (Mag. art.). She is the chief conductor of the Passau University Orchestra (2016-2019 and since 2022) and worked at the Landestheater Niederbayern for 7 years, conducting opera performances. Most recently, she founded her own symphony orchestra, Sinfonietta Passau, which celebrated its first concerts in spring 2023 with great success. She was honoured with the Tokyo Foundation's SYLFF Leadership Initiatives Award in 2024.

Eleni Papakyriakou collaborated as a guest conductor with the Thessaloniki State Symphony Orchestra in November-December 2022. She also held a lectureship at the Music Academy "Louis Spohr" Kassel in 2022, which was successfully completed with a symphony concert in October. In 2019-2020, she appeared as a guest conductor with the Akademischer Orchesterverein Wien.

In September 2020 she held an invitation - among 220 applications - for the international conducting competition La Maestra Paris, which took place in Philharmonie de Paris, with Paris Mozart Orchestra, and was live broadcasted on arte.tv. This led to a concert with Orchestre Pasdeloup in Philharmonie de Paris (Grande Salle Pierre Boulez) in December 2021.

Eleni Papakyriakou began the orchestral studies in 2007 in Greece (Myron Michailidis, Karolos Trikolidis) and in 2010 she continued at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna (Uroš Lajovic, Johannes Wildner). In 2012/13 she took active part in regular courses with Bertrand de Billy and Fabio Luisi. As part of her Diploma Examination (June 2015), Eleni Papakyriakou debuted with the Vienna Chamber Orchestra in the Great Broadcasting Hall of the Austrian Broadcasting CorporationAfter audition, she actively participated in the "53. Weimar Master Classes" (Nicolás Pasquet), while conducting The City of Thessaloniki Symphony Orchestra in the final concert of the "Young Conductors´ Festival".  

While studying, Eleni Papakyriakou already took up the assistant conductor’s post at the Vienna International Opera Academy. She has premiered contemporary works with the ProArte Orchestra and has been a scholarship holder several times,  among others from the SYLFF Program of the Tokyo Foundation. Within the framework of the "SYLFF Chamber Music Seminars - Concert Excellence" she took over at short notice the conducting of an ensemble with students from New York, Paris and Vienna. The final concert was live broadcasted.

Before her conducting studies, Eleni Papakyriakou graduated musicology at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Dipl.). In the same time, she studied composition and holds Diplomas of piano, harmony, counterpoint, fugue and byzantine music. Her musicological interest led her to research on compositions by J. Brahms, F. Schubert and A. Bruckner.

2023-01-27_HD-60.jpg
bottom of page

top of page
CUH_3234.jpg

Biographie

Eleni Papakyriakou stammt aus Thessaloniki, Griechenland. Ihr Studium für Orchesterdirigieren schloss sie 2015 an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien (Mag. art.) ab. Sie ist Chefdirigentin des Passauer Universitätsorchesters (2016-2019 und erneut seit 2022) und war 7 Jahre lang am Landestheater Niederbayern tätig, an dem sie Vorstellungsdirigate übernahm. 2023 gründete sie mit der Sinfonietta Passau ihr eigenes Sinfonieorchester, das im Frühjahr 2023 seine ersten Konzerte mit großem Erfolg feierte.

Als Gastdirigentin arbeitete Eleni Papakyriakou mit dem Staatlichen Orchester Thessaloniki im November-Dezember 2022 zusammen. Ebenfalls 2022 hatte sie einen Lehrauftrag an der Musikakademie "Louis Spohr" Kassel inne, welcher im Oktober mit einem Sinfoniekonzert erfolgreich abgeschlossen wurde. 2019-2020 wirkte sie als Gastdirigentin beim Akademischen Orchesterverein Wien mit.

Im September 2020 erhielt sie unter 220 Bewerbungen eine Einladung zum internationalen Dirigentenwettbewerb „La Maestra Paris“, der in der Philharmonie de Paris mit dem Paris Mozart Orchestra stattfand und live auf arte.tv übertragen wurde. Dies führte zu einem Konzert mit dem Orchestre Pasdeloup in der Philharmonie de Paris (Großer Saal Pierre Boulez) im Dezember 2021.

Eleni Papakyriakou begann das Orchesterstudium 2007 in Griechenland (Myron Michailidis, Karolos Trikolidis) und setzte es 2010 an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien (Uroš Lajovic, Johannes Wildner) fort. 2012/13 nahm sie aktiv an regelmäßigen Kursen mit Bertrand de Billy und Fabio Luisi teil. Im Rahmen ihrer Diplomprüfung (Juni 2015) debütierte Eleni Papakyriakou mit dem Wiener Kammerorchester im Großen Sendesaal des Österreichischen Rundfunks. Nach Vordirigat nahm sie aktiv an den „53. Weimarer Meisterkursen“ (Nicolás Pasquet) teil, während sie im Abschlusskonzert des „Jungen Dirigenten Festivals“ das Sinfonieorchester der Stadt Thessaloniki dirigierte.

Bereits während ihrer Studienzeit wurde Eleni Papakyriakou als Dirigentin und musikalische Assistentin bei der Vienna International Opera Academy engagiert. Sie hat zeitgenössische Werke mit dem ProArte Orchester uraufgeführt und war mehrmals Stipendiatin, u. a. vom SYLFF Programm der Tokyo Foundation. Im Rahmen des „SYLFF Chamber Music Seminar - Konzert Exzellenz“ übernahm sie kurzfristig die Leitung eines Ensembles mit Stipendiat:innen aus New York, Paris und Wien. Das Abschlusskonzert wurde live übertragen.

Vor ihrem Dirigierstudium schloss Eleni Papakyriakou das Studium für Musikwissenschaft an der Aristoteles Universität Thessaloniki ab. Sie studierte auch Komposition und verfügt über Diplome für Klavier, Harmonielehre, Kontrapunkt, Fuge und Byzantinische Musik. Ihr musikwissenschaftliches Interesse brachte sie parallel dazu, über Werke von J. Brahms, F. Schubert und A. Bruckner zu forschen.

2023-01-27_HD-60.jpg
bottom of page